Let it go

So I’ve been feeling not so happy- not so myself lately, therefore I am going to cheer myself up and of course, in the process of doing so, going to make you chickeneers, crow with happiness. 🙂

Because I love y’all~

As some of you might know, The Grapes of Wrath is not so much a comical or romantic novel, more depressing than anything. But somehow, a point in the book made me crack up. Possible hint- the title of this post. There was a scene in the book where the Joad family finally settled in a quite peculiar camp called Hooverville.

Of course we all know what kind of beauty that place is right?

Oh the beauty, the one and only, the one of a kind that everyone wants to live in, where people can express themselves freely using whatever they want. Using literally whatever they want. Well, more like whatever they can find.

As a role of a mother, Mrs. Joad pulled out her pot to try to make some dinner for her family. However, the smell of food made children circle round the pot like swarms of flies that roam around a pile of trash.

“Her family sat on the ground, each with his plate; and outside they could hear the children digging into the pot with their sticks and their spoons and their pieces of rusty tin.”

When you read this, what do you see?

This

Or this

Haha now obviously you would see the first. However, when I read it, I happened to be singing this particular song in my mind and it kind of clicked.

How?

I have no idea.

I saw some children fighting for food, and somehow, I got the image of one child, who is the hungriest, just pushes everyone aside yelling

“LET IT GO!”

and just dive in to get whatever scraps there were left.

Of course, it’s probably the song’s influence, but hey, it was funny.

At the time…still…hehehe

I guess I’m just weird like that.

I mean, I feel like a person should just live weird, to think outside the norm, be different. It’s more exciting and fun that way.

And so basically, that made my day while I was reading it.

But hey, life is weird, then life is awesome.

I mean, think about it. What’s better, a homemade chocolate chip cookie out of scraps from the kitchen, or a perfectly made out of the box cookies.

Obviously, homemade. So why is weird and different so bad? It’s not.

So simple as that huh?

Just let it all go and be freeeeeeeeeeee

-Raining Chocolate

2 thoughts on “Let it go

Leave a Reply

