SCREAM!!!

edvard-munch-the-scream

The expression of my face as I was reading The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas. At first, I was giggly at the typical happily ever after, then like lightning

lightning-bolts-blue-animated

PLOT TWIST!!!

A hurricane of different emotions swirled upon me and as I was engulfed into the eye, I felt like I was pumped with too much adrenaline that if I didn’t do anything i would possibly die.

So I read on.

As the story unfolds, one plot branches out, to bind with another plot that branches out to another which branches out to the one before and so on. It was like a tangled up wire…

649-03293615

YET,

It all made sense.

HOW??!!!

The author was just a genius. Most of the time, when I read books that have more than 5 plot twists, they start to tangle up and not make any sense. But Dumas somehow made it that I can catch on to whats going on, and connect to parts that I read earlier.

amazing

 

ALSO, the story sometimes seem like it will end up this way, but end up TOTALLY different, yet it still is

awesome

 

Of course, this didn’t just made me sit in awe, it made me think…

about food. What else?

Ever bit into a good slice of cheese?

american-cheese

 

not the american cheese. Like real cheese. The ones that you buy in triangular slices.  Fancy cheese like  Parmigiano Reggiano, Sartori Sarvecchio Parmesan, Gruyere, etc.

cheese

I don’t usually eat cheese alone- the creaminess doesn’t attract me as much. However, when i tried small bites, I was shocked. Slightly salty, yet the creamy texture kind of covered it. I got an aftertaste as if I had something sweet. I had the stereotype thought of cheese as salty and too creamy for consumption alone and needed to be eaten with a burger, salad, or even just a cracker.  I began to slowly love cheese. Especially the one that melts in your mouth. It’s as if I’m eating salted dark chocolate.

salted dark chocolate

 

Then I began to think hey, unexpected change in story is like my abstract food idea!

Think about it, just looking at the food, you expect it to taste this way or that. But when you taste it, you find out that it’s definitely different and like it that way.

I expected a typical happily ever after. But I found out it was different.

banana-split

 

I see banana splits. I think, “Hey, this is going to taste sweet and creamy!” and get excited.

When I took a bite,

SHOCKER!!!

It was actually a main dish. Definitely not sweet. Banana was actually a mozzarella cheese, shaped as a banana. Ice cream was balled up pasta-strawberry was tomato, vanilla was fettuccine, and chocolate was beef stock.

DELICIOUS~~~

Can you imagine it? Wouldn’t it be great if I could actually eat that~

I definitely want to give you on detail about the book, but it is one amazing book and I definitely want you to read it. Then you can come back to my post and feel with me, the feeling I get swirled up with different emotions like ice cream.

rainbow ice cream swirl

Leave a Reply

