Determined to be Taller

Sometimes I just really envy tall people. They grow up with that aura of authority and power. They seem to be happier and more successful.  As my one of my teachers said, tall people tend to have better jobs, better social lives, and better dating experiences. Googling it proves his point. And to think… they were just born with it. It’s in their genes, similar to how something in my genes are keeping me at the short height I’m at now. Actually, most of the time I don’t mind it much. I realize that’s just how I am, and that’s just a part of what makes me, me. But there are times that I just hope I can grow a couple more inches before time’s up, before my growth stops completely. Like yesterday.

Yesterday, I went to the doctor’s office for a checkup. After doing numerous actions proving I’m healthy, she tells me subtly that it would be nice to grow a couple more inches….And that I’m in the lower 35 percent of average teens my age when it comes to height. After seeing the graph itself and hearing tips on how to grow taller, I became determined. So, I went home and did some research myself.

Here are some foods that will help any short chickeneers out there like me with a dream of becoming taller:

  •  Milk – Calcium and Vitamin D found in dairy products like milk, cheese, and yogurt promotes bone growth.

03082_180595

  • Fruits and Veggies – These colorful foods contain Vitamin A that promote growth and development of bones and tissues. Good fruits and vegetables high in vitamin A include carrots, broccoli, spinach, cantaloupe and apricots. 

Fruit_Vegetables

  • Eggs – Foods containing protein should definitely be added to your plate. Proteins have amino acids which stimulates growth in humans.

hard-boiled-egg-1

Other tips:

  • Make sure you get enough sleep. This is too often overlooked, even by me. The body produces the Human Growth Hormone while you sleep, so getting enough deep sleep helps a lot.
  • Keep a consistent eating schedule.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to reach my dream height of 5’5″ soon. I’m pretty sure adding more of these foods onto my plate will be more effective than wishing on stars. I hope this comes in handy to any other short chickeneers. Good luck. 🙂

Cinnamon Roll. 

References: 1. 2. 3. 4.

Leave a Reply

