The Craving Chronicles

Riddle time! What looks like roses but tastes like chocolate-covered strawberries?

Strawberry meringues, of course!

Chocolate-Dipped Strawberry Meringue Roses

I’m not the first person who has ever made strawberry meringues shaped like roses, but my meringues have a secret ingredient that I didn’t see in other meringue recipes: freeze-dried strawberries. Other recipes I read used combinations of red food dye, fresh strawberries, or even strawberry jello to achieve that pink color and strawberry flavor. I liked the idea of fresh strawberries, but I wanted a way to concentrate that bright fruit flavor while also removing the moisture. Freeze-dried strawberries turned out to be the perfect solution. And because they’re 100% real strawberries, there’s no red food dye to mess with. Success!

Chocolate-Dipped Strawberry Meringue Roses

I enjoy making meringues for a couple of reasons. First, it gives me an excuse to practice my (dismal) piping skills. Second, as long as you’ve got a stand mixer and are good…

View original post 442 more words

Leave a Reply

